Call center scheduling software for mid-size teams in 2026: 9 tools not built for huge enterprises, ranked with published prices, trials and setup time.

Steve Hind
·
Updated
The best call center scheduling software for a mid-size team of 20 to 200 agents, without an enterprise project, is Assembled (WFM from $25 per agent per month plus a platform fee), Soon (from $8 per user per month, live the same day by Soon's account) and, if your team already runs on Zendesk, Zendesk WFM (US$50 per agent per month on top of a Zendesk plan).
We ranked 9 tools that are not built only for huge enterprises, and led with price because it is the first thing most mid-size teams cannot find. Six of the 9 publish a starting price; the rest are quote-based or not published. Lorikeet Workforce Manager ranks fourth: it is built for support teams of 20+ agents on chat or phones and has a 30-day free trial, but its price is not published.
Key takeaways
Published prices run from free (Homebase, for one location with up to 10 employees) and $5 per user per month (Deputy Lite) to $165 (Talkdesk Elite, which includes the whole contact center).
For 40 agents, Assembled Pro is $1,800 a month plus a platform fee, Soon Scale is $640, and Zendesk's WFM bundle is US$2,000 on top of your Zendesk plan.
Shift schedulers (Deputy, Homebase) build and publish shifts. WFM tools start from a forecast of calls and chats. If a service level target sets your coverage, you need WFM.
At 40 agents, a team lead can usually run WFM software if it forecasts from your own history and checks working rules before publishing.
Setup claims range from the same day (Soon) to within a month (Assembled) and a few weeks (Calabrio).
How we chose and checked these tools
We read each vendor's own pricing, product and FAQ pages on 6 November 2026 and ranked tools for teams of 20 to 200 agents on five criteria, applied in this order:
Forecasting from contact volume. WFM tools that forecast calls and chats rank above shift schedulers (Deputy, Homebase), because a service level target needs the forecast.
A published starting price, plus any platform fees or minimums. Among WFM tools, those that publish a price rank above those that do not.
Built for support teams of 20 to 200 agents on any helpdesk or phone system, not only large centers or one vendor's platform.
Time to a first schedule, in the vendor's own words.
Working-rule checks and live intraday changes.
One exception: Talkdesk WFM is listed last because it is sold only inside a full contact center seat, so its published price buys a phone platform rather than scheduling.
Lorikeet publishes this guide and is one of the platforms compared. We checked competitor details on their own websites in November 2026; if something has changed, tell us and we will update the page.
Enterprise suites such as NiCE and Verint are covered in a short section at the end rather than ranked. We did not use review-site ratings because we could not verify them consistently.
Call center scheduling software pricing compared
Rank | Tool | Published starting price | Fees and minimums | Free trial | Time to go live (vendor's words) | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
1 | Assembled | WFM Core $25 per agent per month | Plus a platform fee (amount not published); AI scheduling from Pro at $45 | Not listed; demo | Many customers live within a month | Digital-first support teams |
2 | Soon | Grow $8 per user per month ($4 Start marked coming soon) | Start from $39 a month with 10 users; Enterprise annual only | 14, 30 or 60 days by plan, no card | Most teams live the same day | Operations teams leaving spreadsheets |
3 | Zendesk WFM | US$50 per agent per month (bundle, paid yearly) | On top of a Zendesk plan, such as Suite Team at US$55 | On request | Not published | Teams already on Zendesk |
4 | Lorikeet Workforce Manager | Not published | Not published | 30 days | Import roster, team and contact history in minutes | Support teams of 20+ agents on chat or phones |
5 | CommunityWFM Essentials | Not published | Not published | Not listed; demo | Not published | Small and mid-size contact centers on an ACD |
6 | Calabrio WFM | Not published | QM and advanced analytics sold separately | Not listed; interactive demo | Most implementations a few weeks | Inbound, voice-heavy centers |
7 | Deputy | Lite $5 per user per month | Forecasting from Core at $6.50; US$30 minimum monthly spend on monthly plans | Free trial; length not stated on its pricing page | Not published | Shift rostering with labor-law checks |
8 | Homebase | Free for 1 location, up to 10 employees | Paid plans per location: Essentials $30 a month | 14 days of All-in-One | Not published | Small single-site hourly teams |
9 | Talkdesk WFM | Elite $165 per user per month | A full contact center seat | Not listed for Elite | Not published | Teams running phones on Talkdesk |
Shift scheduler or WFM: which does a mid-size team need?
A shift scheduler builds and publishes shifts and handles swaps and leave; WFM software starts one step earlier, forecasting calls and chats by interval and turning them into the number of agents each hour needs. If your coverage is set by a service level target such as 80% of calls answered in 20 seconds, you need the forecast. If your shifts barely change week to week, a scheduler may be enough. Our guide to replacing a scheduling spreadsheet covers the switch.
1. Assembled: published prices built for support teams
Why it ranks first: it is built for support queues, publishes per-agent prices and manages the day live. Assembled's pricing page lists ML-based forecasting, AI-powered scheduling, automated intraday management and human-AI workforce planning, and says many customers can go live within a month.
Pricing: WFM Core $25, Pro $45 and Enterprise $75 per agent per month, plus a platform fee whose amount is not published. Core covers scheduling, time tracking, real-time adherence and staffing analytics; Pro adds AI schedule generation, ML forecasting, automated time off and shift swaps. All plans include onboarding training.
Limit: most mid-size teams will want Pro, and the platform fee means the per-agent price is not the full bill. No free trial is listed.
2. Soon: low published prices and same-day setup
Why it ranks second: Soon publishes every price, offers a free trial without a card, and says most teams are live the same day. It auto-fills shifts while respecting contracts, availability, skills, fairness and labor law, forecasts demand from historical patterns at 15-minute intervals, and handles sick calls with drag-and-drop intraday changes.
Pricing: Grow $8 and Scale $16 per user per month, a $4 Start plan marked coming soon (from $39 a month with 10 users), and a tailored Enterprise plan. Trials are 14, 30 or 60 days by plan.
Limit: it is built for operations teams in general, and its pages describe importing people from CSV, Excel or an HR system rather than naming helpdesk or phone integrations. Check how your ticket and call volume reaches the forecast.
3. Zendesk WFM: simplest if Zendesk is your helpdesk
Why it ranks third: it publishes a price and is built for support teams, but only for teams on Zendesk, so a team on another helpdesk would also have to buy a Zendesk plan.
What it does: Zendesk lists an AI-powered staffing forecast from historical data, automatic schedules down to the minute including breaks and ticket types, and real-time tracking of agent activity and schedule adherence. Customers on any Basic or Suite plan can use it, and a free trial is available on request.
Pricing: the Workforce Engagement Bundle is US$50 per agent per month paid yearly, on top of a Zendesk plan such as Suite Team at US$55.
Limit: it is built for Zendesk, so calls or chats handled elsewhere may not reach the forecast. Its page describes real-time tracking of activity and schedule adherence, not live re-planning of the day.
4. Lorikeet Workforce Manager: rosters from support volume, checked against your rules
What it does: it is built for support teams of 20+ agents running live chat or phones, and the launch post says you can import your roster, team and contact history in minutes. It builds the roster from ticket and call volume by channel, day and hour, checks each draft week against contracted hours, rest between shifts, channel skills, approved leave and demand, and flags under-covered shifts with qualified, available agents to cover them. Capacity planning shows shortfalls up to 12 months ahead.
Pricing: Workforce Manager pricing is not published; there is a 30-day free trial.
Why it ranks fourth: on a pricing-first list, an unpublished price counts against it, so it sits below the three WFM tools that publish theirs; it ranks above CommunityWFM and Calabrio because it is built for support teams of this size and describes a first roster in minutes. It launched on 7 October 2026. Workforce Manager now "manages the day as it happens" (in-day management), per Lorikeet. That meets our fifth criterion alongside its rule checks, but criteria are applied in order, so the unpublished price still keeps it fourth.
5. CommunityWFM Essentials: an SMB edition of a contact center WFM
What it does: CommunityWFM says Essentials is built for small and medium-sized contact centers, imports new queues directly from your ACD, forecasts from multiple data sources including spreadsheets, and includes real-time adherence and an agent portal and app. Moving up to its fuller edition takes a license key change. Its homepage reports that RingCentral acquired CommunityWFM.
Pricing: not published.
Limit: it is centered on ACD queues, and CommunityWFM describes its cloud product as built for WFM professionals, so chat-heavy teams without a planner should test it with their team lead.
6. Calabrio WFM (part of Verint): full WFM, fast deployment
What it does: Verint positions Calabrio for inbound contact centers that have outgrown manual forecasting and scheduling. Its multi-skill engine accounts for work-hour legislation and runs for 50 agents or 50,000, with intraday tools, real-time adherence and integrations including Amazon Connect, Five9, Talkdesk and 8x8.
Pricing: not published. Verint says most implementations take a few weeks.
Limit: quality management and advanced analytics are separate solutions, and pricing needs a sales conversation.
7. Deputy: low-cost rostering with labor-law checks
What it does: Deputy sells call center scheduling as rostering, time clocking, shift swaps and leave, with micro-scheduling to split shifts around peak hours. Its pricing page lists labor law compliance on every plan and auto-scheduling and demand forecasting from Core.
Pricing: Lite $5, Core $6.50 and Pro $9 per user per month, with a US$30 minimum monthly spend on monthly plans.
Limit: it is built for shift workforces in general. Check that its demand forecast can read interval-level call and chat volume before relying on it for service levels.
8. Homebase: free scheduling for small single-site teams
What it does: scheduling, time tracking and team messaging, with an AI scheduling assistant and time-off controls on its Plus plan.
Pricing: free for one location with up to 10 employees; paid plans are priced per location with unlimited employees, from Essentials at $30 a month.
Limit: its pricing page does not list forecasting from call or chat volume, so it suits teams that plan around fixed shifts rather than service levels.
9. Talkdesk WFM: for teams already on Talkdesk
What it does: Talkdesk lists AI forecasts from historical and real-time data, scheduling from shift templates, break rules and agent skills, intraday adjustments and a mobile schedule app.
Pricing: its Elite plan is $165 per user per month and lists Workforce Management.
Limit: that price is a full contact center seat, so it only makes sense if Talkdesk already runs your phones.
What does call center scheduling software cost for a 40-agent team?
For 40 agents, published prices before platform or base plan fees work out as:
Deputy Core: 40 x $6.50 = $260 a month.
Soon Grow or Scale: $320 or $640 a month.
Assembled Core or Pro: $1,000 or $1,800 a month, plus the platform fee.
Zendesk WFM bundle: US$2,000 a month, plus Suite Team at US$2,200 if you need the plan.
Talkdesk Elite: $6,600 a month, including the contact center itself.
Lorikeet Workforce Manager, CommunityWFM and Calabrio need a quote or a trial. Compare the bill against the planner hours a spreadsheet costs you today.
Do you need to hire a WFM analyst for a 40-agent support team, or can software do it?
For a single-site team of about 40 agents, software plus a team lead who owns the plan can usually do the job, provided the tool forecasts from your own history, checks working rules before publishing and shows where each hour is short. A dedicated analyst earns their keep when you add sites, many skill groups, BPO partners or tight voice service levels.
The math itself is not the hard part. The free Erlang C calculator shows that 100 calls in 30 minutes at a 180-second handle time needs 14 agents on the phones to answer 80% within 20 seconds, and 20 on the roster after 30% shrinkage. The judgment calls are the job: setting the service level, adjusting for a launch and deciding when to hire. Our guide on when a support team needs a WFM analyst goes deeper, and our Erlang C guide covers the formula.
When an enterprise suite is the right call
Large, multi-site centers with planning teams are better served by enterprise suites. NiCE publishes CXone suites at $110 to $249 per agent per month, Genesys Cloud CX 3 includes workforce management at $155 per user per month billed annually, and Verint says Verint WFM suits enterprises with deeper governance and regional labor law needs. Our ranked WFM software guide compares them.
Is Lorikeet the right fit?
Workforce Manager is built for support teams of 20 or more agents on live chat or phones who want rosters built from real volume and checked against working rules. It is not the right choice for everyone:
If you need a published per-agent price before you trial anything, Assembled, Soon and Deputy publish theirs.
If you need a published integrations list before you trial, Calabrio lists its integrations, including Amazon Connect, Five9, Talkdesk and 8x8; Workforce Manager does not publish one.
If your shifts are fixed and nobody plans to a service level, Homebase or Deputy will cost less.
If you run a large multi-site center with WFM analysts, NiCE or Verint fit better.
Workforce Manager pricing is not published. Lorikeet's AI concierge is priced separately. Lorikeet publishes its pricing: the Start plan is $2,100 a month and Scale is $5,100 a month (both billed annually), with resolved chat, email and SMS conversations at $0.99 (Start) or $0.90 (Scale) and voice at $1.50 or $1.20. Unresolved tickets and handoffs to a person are not charged. Signature is custom, with a $75K platform fee. Full details are on the pricing page. To build a roster from your own volume, read the Workforce Manager launch post or start a 30-day free trial. Comparing against Assembled? See our Assembled alternatives guide.
Frequently asked questions
Which call center scheduling software is not built for huge enterprises?
Assembled, Soon, Zendesk WFM, Lorikeet Workforce Manager, CommunityWFM Essentials and Calabrio WFM all target teams below enterprise scale. Assembled and Soon publish per-agent or per-user prices, Zendesk WFM is priced as a bundle on top of a Zendesk plan, and Lorikeet Workforce Manager is built for support teams of 20+ agents on chat or phones with a 30-day free trial. Deputy and Homebase are lower-cost shift schedulers.
How much does call center scheduling software cost for a mid-size team?
Published prices run from free (Homebase, for one location with up to 10 employees), $5 per user per month (Deputy Lite) and $8 (Soon Grow) to $25 to $75 per agent per month plus a platform fee (Assembled) and US$50 per agent per month for Zendesk's bundle on top of a plan. Talkdesk Elite at $165 per user per month includes a full contact center. Workforce Manager, CommunityWFM and Calabrio do not publish WFM prices.
Do I need to hire a WFM analyst for a 40 agent support team or can software do it?
For a single-site team of about 40 agents, software plus a team lead who owns the plan can usually do it, if the tool forecasts from your own history, checks working rules and shows which hours are short. A dedicated analyst becomes worthwhile with multiple sites, many skill groups, BPO partners or tight voice service levels.
What is the difference between call center scheduling software and WFM software?
Scheduling software builds and publishes shifts and handles swaps and leave. WFM software also forecasts calls and chats by interval, turns the forecast into staffing requirements, manages intraday changes, tracks adherence and plans capacity months ahead.
Which call center scheduling tools offer a free trial?
Soon offers 14, 30 or 60 days by plan without a card, Lorikeet Workforce Manager offers 30 days, Deputy offers a free trial (its pricing page does not state the length), Homebase offers 14 days of its All-in-One plan, and Zendesk offers a WFM trial on request. Assembled and Calabrio list demos rather than trials.
Does Lorikeet publish Workforce Manager pricing?
No. Workforce Manager pricing is not published; there is a 30-day free trial. Lorikeet's published plans (Start $2,100/mo or Scale $5,100/mo annual, plus per-resolution rates) are for its AI concierge, not Workforce Manager.
Can Lorikeet Workforce Manager handle sick calls during the day?
Workforce Manager now "manages the day as it happens" (in-day management), per Lorikeet. It also flags under-covered shifts in the weekly roster and suggests qualified, available agents. Test how it handles a sick call on your own volume in the 30-day free trial.

