7 AI support agents you can set up yourself in a day, compared on free trial, card, self-serve sign-up and published time to go live on Zendesk or Intercom.

Hannah Owen
·
Updated
If you want an AI customer support agent live within a day and without a long implementation project, the tools that publish the fastest self-serve setup are Fin (now part of Salesforce), eesel AI and Gorgias, each of which states a setup time of an hour or less and offers a free trial with no credit card. Zendesk, Help Scout and Tidio also let you trial their AI agents before you talk to sales. Lorikeet, which is built for complex and regulated support, offers a 30-day self-serve trial but publishes a time to first live ticket of "as little as hours, average under 29 days", so read every setup claim for what it actually measures.
This guide compares seven tools on the things that decide whether you can do this yourself this week: trial length and card requirement, self-serve sign-up, the setup time each vendor publishes, which helpdesks it connects to, and whether pricing is on the website.
Key takeaways
"Live in under an hour" usually means connected and answering. Fin says it "can be live with any helpdesk in less than an hour", Gorgias says "Live in under an hour" and eesel AI says most teams have their first agent "live within 30 minutes". None of those claims covers a full rollout across every ticket type.
Five of the seven publish a no-card trial or free allowance. Fin, Zendesk, Help Scout, eesel AI and Tidio state that no credit card is needed to try; Gorgias states it on most plans. Lorikeet asks for a card at checkout and charges nothing until its 30-day trial ends.
If you run Zendesk or Intercom, check the connector path first. Fin, eesel AI and Lorikeet connect to both. Tidio's Lyro connects to Zendesk and Intercom only on its Plus and Premium plans, through a sales demo.
Test on history before you go live. The fastest safe launch is a draft or simulation run on past tickets, then a small slice of live traffic on the topics that passed.
What "set up in a day" actually means
Every vendor below measures setup differently, so it helps to split the day into four jobs and ask which of them a claim covers.
Connect the helpdesk. Install the app or authorize the connector in Zendesk, Intercom, Salesforce or whichever helpdesk you use. This is usually minutes when an admin is available.
Load knowledge. Point the agent at your help center, past tickets, macros and policy docs. Quality here depends on how current your help content is, which is the real bottleneck for most teams.
Test. Run the agent in draft mode, a sandbox or a simulation against real historical tickets, and fix the gaps it exposes. Gorgias, eesel AI, Front and Lorikeet all describe a pre-launch test step on their own pages.
Go live on a slice. Turn the agent on for one channel, one brand or a handful of topics, and keep everything else with your team until the numbers hold.
Steps 1 and 2 fit in an afternoon for simple FAQ-style volume. Steps 3 and 4 take longer when the agent has to take actions in your systems, verify identity or follow regulated processes. Our guide to forward deployed implementation covers that longer path in detail.
How we chose and checked these tools
We included AI support agents that meet three tests: a buyer can start a trial or free allowance from the vendor's website without a sales call, the vendor publishes something about setup or time to go live, and the product resolves customer conversations rather than only drafting replies for agents. We checked every vendor fact on the vendor's own public pages on 22 October 2026: Fin and Fin pricing, Intercom pricing, Zendesk AI agents and Zendesk pricing, Gorgias AI Agent and Gorgias pricing, Help Scout pricing, eesel AI and eesel AI pricing, Tidio Lyro and Tidio pricing, and our own pricing page. Where a vendor does not state something, the table says "Not published".
We also checked Front Autopilot. Front offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card, but its pricing page lists Autopilot as an add-on "starting at $0.05 /conversation" with a "Talk to sales" button and publishes no setup time, so it did not meet the self-serve test for this list.
Lorikeet publishes this guide and is one of the tools listed. We have tried to describe every product, including our own, using only what each vendor publishes, and we link to the source for each claim. The order below is not a quality ranking: it starts with the tools that publish the shortest setup times for an existing helpdesk.
Comparison: trials, sign-up and published setup time
Tool | Free trial (length, card) | Self-serve sign-up | Published setup-time claim | Helpdesk integrations | Pricing published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Fin (now part of Salesforce) | 14 days, no credit card | Yes | "Live with any helpdesk in less than an hour" | Intercom natively; Salesforce, Zendesk, HubSpot, Freshdesk and others | Yes: $0.99 per outcome; $49/month minimum with another helpdesk |
eesel AI | 100 free credits, no card | Yes | "Live within 30 minutes" for most teams | Zendesk, Freshdesk, Intercom, Jira Service Management, Salesforce Service Cloud, Front and more | Yes: from $299/month for 500 credits |
Lorikeet | 30 days; card added at checkout, nothing charged until the trial ends; work email required | Yes | Time to first live ticket "as little as hours, average under 29 days" | Zendesk, Slack, Intercom, HubSpot, Front, HelpScout, Salesforce, Genesys Cloud, Lorikeet SDK | Yes: Start $2,100/mo and Scale $5,100/mo paid annually, plus per-resolution rates |
Gorgias AI Agent | Length not published; "No credit card required" on most plans | Yes | "Live in under an hour" | Gorgias helpdesk; Shopify and other ecommerce platforms | Yes: Starter $40/mo incl. 30 automated interactions |
Zendesk AI agents | 14 days, no credit card | Yes | "Automate requests from day one" | Zendesk | Yes: Suite Team from US$55 per agent/month paid yearly |
Help Scout Envoy | 15-day plan trial, no card; 3 months of free AI resolutions | Yes | "Configure the AI in minutes" | Help Scout | Yes: $0.75 per resolution add-on |
Tidio Lyro | 7-day trial, no card; 50 free Lyro conversations | Yes (Tidio); Zendesk and Intercom connection via sales | "Improve your service in minutes" | Tidio; Zendesk, Intercom, Salesforce on Plus and Premium | Partly: from $0.5 per conversation; Plus from $300/mo |
1. Fin (now part of Salesforce): fastest published setup on an existing helpdesk
Fin is the AI agent built by Intercom, and it is the most direct answer if you already run Intercom or want to add an AI agent to another helpdesk without migrating. Fin's homepage says it "is natively integrated with Intercom, but also works excellently with Salesforce, Zendesk, Hubspot, Freshdesk, and many other helpdesks", and that "Fin can be live with any helpdesk in less than an hour."
Trial and pricing as published. The Fin pricing page offers a 14-day free trial with "No credit card required." Fin is priced at "$0.99 per outcome", charged "once per conversation, even if multiple questions are answered." Used with another helpdesk, there is a "$49/month minimum, which includes 50 outcomes" and "No setup or integration fees." On Intercom's own helpdesk, the Intercom pricing page lists a "1 Full seat minimum" with Fin usage on top.
Best for: teams on Intercom, or on Zendesk or Salesforce, who want a working agent the same afternoon and are comfortable with per-outcome billing.
Trade-offs: the under-an-hour claim covers getting Fin live, not tuning complex procedures. Fin's own pages describe Procedures for multi-step workflows, which take longer to build and test than FAQ answers. Setup can also be agent-led: Intercom's npm CLI has a setup command that provisions a new workspace, with articles and Fin, and Intercom runs an MCP server that lets AI tools work with Intercom data. If you are on Intercom, our walkthrough on how to add an AI agent to Intercom compares the options.
2. eesel AI: plug-in agent for the helpdesk you already have
eesel AI connects to an existing helpdesk and drafts or sends replies from your knowledge. Its homepage FAQ says: "Most teams have their first AI customer support agent live within 30 minutes." It adds that "there's no coding, no long implementation project, and no specialist required", and that you "can run the agent in draft mode first, reviewing its replies before anything goes live."
Integrations. eesel AI lists Zendesk, Freshdesk, Intercom, Jira Service Management, Salesforce Service Cloud and Front, with knowledge from Confluence, Notion, Google Docs, SharePoint, past tickets and public help centers. It also offers a CLI so a developer or an AI coding agent can do setup "from the terminal in one command."
Trial and pricing as published. The eesel AI pricing page says the free plan is a trial: "You get 100 credits to try everything: every feature, every integration." Its homepage adds "no credit card required." Paid plans start at "$299/month" for 500 credits, and "A ticket or a chat is 1 credit."
Best for: Zendesk or Freshdesk teams that want to see real drafts on their own tickets before paying.
Trade-offs: credits pause when you run out unless you turn on overage with a cap, so model your monthly ticket volume against the credit tiers before you switch to auto-respond.
3. Lorikeet: self-serve trial for complex and regulated support
Lorikeet is an AI customer support platform for complex and regulated businesses, such as fintech, lending and healthtech. One agent works across chat, email, voice, SMS and WhatsApp, and takes actions in your systems through APIs, webhooks and MCP servers. According to how it works, "Setup is connecting, not migrating": you connect your ticketing system, train the agent on help docs, SOPs and brand guidelines, then replay historical tickets in simulations before go-live and deploy topic by topic.
Trial and pricing as published. The 30-day free trial needs a work email; you add a card at checkout and nothing is charged until the trial ends. After sign-up, Coach, the setup agent, guides you through your first concierge. An AI assistant can also start the sign-up for you, and you finish in your own browser (how agent sign-up works). Plans are Start at $2,100/mo and Scale at $5,100/mo, paid annually, with chat, email and SMS resolutions at $0.99 (Start) or $0.90 (Scale); you are charged only for successfully resolved tickets, and escalations to a person are not charged.
Integrations: Zendesk, Slack, Intercom, HubSpot, Front, HelpScout, Salesforce and Genesys Cloud, plus the SDK; full list on the integrations page.
Best for: teams whose tickets need identity checks, account actions or regulated steps. GiveCard, a payouts platform, signed on 31 October 2025 and went live on 3 November, with its Head of Product saying "We actually built workflows specific for this event within two to three days" (GiveCard story).
Honest limit: this is not a 30-minute install. The published time to first live ticket is "as little as hours, average under 29 days", because most teams run simulations on past tickets before customers see an answer. If all you need is FAQ answers from a help center, a tool higher on this list will be live sooner.
4. Gorgias AI Agent: ecommerce brands on Shopify
Gorgias is a helpdesk built for ecommerce, and its AI Agent is trained on your store data. The AI Agent page says "Your CX team sets up, trains, and optimizes AI Agent themselves. No engineers, no heavy lift. Live in under an hour." It also says "Start free. No credit card required. Live on your store in under an hour."
Testing. Gorgias describes a sandbox: "Sandbox mode runs AI Agent against real tickets. You see every response before it goes live." The agent can take actions directly in Shopify, from common workflows to custom actions.
Trial and pricing as published. The Gorgias pricing page shows Starter at $40/mo (billed monthly) including 50 tickets and 30 automated interactions, Basic at $77/mo billed annually, and "AI Agent on every plan, pay only when it resolves a conversation." Most plans show "Start free trial" with "No credit card required"; the trial length is not stated on the pages we checked.
Best for: Shopify and other ecommerce brands that want order lookups, returns and product questions handled in one helpdesk.
Trade-offs: it is a full helpdesk, so if you run Zendesk or Intercom today, using Gorgias AI Agent means moving your support onto Gorgias.
5. Zendesk AI agents: AI inside the Zendesk Suite
If your team already lives in Zendesk, its own AI agents are the shortest path to trying AI without adding a vendor. The Zendesk AI agents page offers a "14-day free trial. No credit card required." and says you can "use your existing knowledge and policies to automate requests from day one."
Pricing as published. On the Zendesk pricing page, AI agents start in Suite Team at US$55 per agent/month paid yearly. Plans include a set number of automated resolutions (5 or 10 per agent/month depending on plan), with committed or pay-as-you-go resolutions on top. Zendesk defines an automated resolution as a request "successfully resolved by the AI agent, without any escalation to a human agent."
Trial detail. The default trial gives access to Suite Professional for 14 days, and Zendesk notes that "trial access to AI features is available for evaluation purposes, though the capabilities included may vary."
Best for: existing Zendesk customers who want to test AI on their own help center content first.
Trade-offs: pricing is per agent seat plus resolutions, so cost depends on team size as well as volume, and the AI agent works inside Zendesk rather than across other helpdesks.
6. Help Scout Envoy: long free AI window for small teams
Help Scout's AI agent is sold as an add-on called Envoy on its pricing page (the FAQ there still calls it AI Answers). Help Scout says you can "add your website or other sources to configure the AI in minutes."
Trial and pricing as published. A trial of the Standard or Plus plan gives "15 days to take all of the plan's features for a test drive", with no credit card required. Separately, "When you create your Help Scout account, you will get 3 months of free, unlimited AI Answers resolutions." After that, the add-on is "$0.75 / resolution", and you can set a monthly spending cap that disables the AI when reached.
Resolution definition. A resolution counts only if the customer gets an AI response and does not escalate, search the knowledge base, ask more questions or indicate they need more help.
Best for: small teams that want the longest no-cost window to measure impact on real conversations.
Trade-offs: Envoy works inside Help Scout, so it is a fit if Help Scout is, or will be, your helpdesk.
7. Tidio Lyro: low-cost start for small online businesses
Lyro is Tidio's AI agent. The Lyro page shows a three-step setup under the heading "Improve your service in minutes": feed Lyro your support content, let it answer using only that content, then monitor and improve.
Trial and pricing as published. "Every Tidio account starts with 50 Lyro conversations for free," and the Tidio pricing page offers a 7-day free trial with no credit card. A Lyro conversation "starts from $0.5", and one conversation counts once no matter how many replies it takes. Starter is $24.17/mo and Plus starts at $300/mo plus usage.
Best for: small online businesses that want to try an AI agent on their website chat this week for very little money.
Trade-offs: if your helpdesk is Zendesk, Intercom or Salesforce, Tidio says "Lyro Connect is available only with Plus and Premium subscriptions" and that pricing is explained "during your demo call", so that path is not self-serve.
How long does it take to get an AI support agent live on Zendesk or Intercom?
Going by what vendors publish, the connection itself takes minutes to an hour: Fin says under an hour for any helpdesk, eesel AI says 30 minutes for most teams, and Zendesk's own agent is already inside the product. A safe first launch on a slice of tickets is realistic within a day for FAQ-style questions if your help center is current. Work that involves taking actions in other systems, verifying identity or following regulated steps takes longer, which is why Lorikeet publishes an average of under 29 days to first live ticket alongside "as little as hours". For a wider view of trials, see our comparison of AI customer service software with a free trial.
Questions to ask before you pick
What does the setup claim measure? Connected, answering in draft, or resolving live tickets? Ask for the vendor's definition.
Does the trial include the AI agent on my helpdesk? Zendesk notes AI capabilities in trial "may vary", and Tidio's Zendesk connector sits behind a sales call.
Can I test on my own historical tickets before go-live? Look for draft mode, a sandbox or simulations.
What counts as a billable resolution? Compare Fin's outcome, Zendesk's automated resolution, Help Scout's resolution and per-conversation pricing at Tidio.
Will the agent need to take actions or handle regulated steps? If yes, plan for a testing phase measured in weeks, whichever tool you choose.
If your support is complex or regulated and you want to try it yourself, you can start a 30-day Lorikeet trial and run simulations on your own tickets before anything goes live.
Frequently asked questions
Which AI customer support agent can I set up in a day?
Fin, eesel AI and Gorgias publish the shortest setup times: Fin says it can be live with any helpdesk in less than an hour, eesel AI says most teams are live within 30 minutes, and Gorgias says live in under an hour. Zendesk, Help Scout and Tidio also offer self-serve trials. Expect a day to cover connecting and testing FAQ-style answers, not a full rollout.
Is there a free trial AI agent that connects to Zendesk in under an hour?
Yes. Fin offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card and states it can be live with any helpdesk, including Zendesk, in less than an hour. eesel AI gives 100 free credits with no card and connects to Zendesk. Zendesk's own AI agents come with a 14-day no-card trial inside Zendesk.
How long does it take to get an AI support agent live on Zendesk or Intercom?
The connection usually takes minutes to an hour by vendor claims. A first launch on a slice of simple tickets can happen the same day if your help center is current. Agents that take actions or follow regulated processes take longer; Lorikeet publishes an average under 29 days to first live ticket, and as little as hours.
Can I try an AI agent for customer support before talking to sales?
Yes. Fin, Zendesk, Gorgias, Help Scout, eesel AI, Tidio and Lorikeet all let you start a trial or free allowance from their websites. Exceptions exist: Tidio's Lyro Connect for Zendesk, Intercom or Salesforce goes through a sales demo, and Front's Autopilot add-on is priced through sales.
Do I need a credit card to trial an AI support agent?
Not for most of the tools here. Fin, Zendesk, Help Scout, eesel AI and Tidio state no credit card is required, and Gorgias says the same on most plans. Lorikeet asks for a card at checkout to start its 30-day trial and charges nothing until the trial ends.
What should I test before turning an AI agent on for live customers?
Run it against real historical tickets in draft mode, a sandbox or simulations, check answers on your top topics, confirm escalation to a person works with full context, then go live on one channel or a few topics and expand as resolution quality holds.

