Affordable AI customer support for small teams at regulated companies: 6 options compared on published prices, HIPAA and BAA paths, AI billing and free trials.
·
Updated
The most affordable AI customer support for a small team at a regulated company is usually the AI built into a helpdesk you can already afford: Help Scout, Freshdesk, Intercom with Fin (now part of Salesforce) and Zendesk all publish per-seat prices and per-resolution or per-session AI rates. The catch is that their HIPAA or compliance features sit on higher plans. Lorikeet costs more, starting at $2,100 a month paid annually, and fits when the AI has to complete regulated tasks rather than answer questions.
Every price below is the vendor's own published list price, checked on 23 October 2026. Where a vendor does not publish something, we say "Not published".
Key takeaways
Compliance moves you up a tier. Help Scout lists HIPAA compliance on Pro, Intercom lists HIPAA support on Expert, and Zendesk lists HIPAA enablement on Suite Professional. Price the plan you will actually need.
AI billing units differ. Help Scout charges $0.75 per resolution, Fin $0.99 per outcome, Zendesk $2.00 per automated resolution pay as you go, and Freshdesk $49 per 100 sessions. A session is not a resolution.
Lorikeet is not the cheapest. Its Start plan is $2,100 a month paid annually plus $0.99 per resolution. It earns that cost only on tickets that need actions in your systems and audited handoffs.
Cheap AI is not getting cheaper by default. Gartner predicts generative AI cost per resolution will exceed $3 by 2030. Lock in rates and caps.
How we chose and checked these options
We included tools a team of roughly 2 to 15 support people can buy without an enterprise procurement cycle, that publish prices, and that offer an AI agent plus a documented route to handling regulated data such as a HIPAA plan or a Business Associate Agreement. We checked each vendor's pricing and compliance pages on 23 October 2026, including Help Scout pricing, Freshdesk pricing, Intercom pricing, Zendesk pricing and Lorikeet pricing. The order is not a ranking. Lorikeet publishes this guide and is one of the tools listed. We have tried to describe every product, including our own, using only what each vendor publishes, and we link to the source for each claim.
Affordable AI customer support for small teams at regulated companies, compared
Option | Published entry price | AI pricing | Plan with published HIPAA or BAA path | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Help Scout | $25 per user/month (Standard) | $0.75 per AI resolution | Pro, $75 per user/month (HIPAA compliance listed) | 15 days (Standard, Plus); 3 months of AI resolutions |
Freshdesk | $19 per agent/month annually (Growth) | 500 sessions included once; $49 per 100 sessions | BAA covers Freshdesk with mandatory settings; plan not stated (IP allowlisting is listed on Enterprise, $89) | 14 days |
Lorikeet | $2,100 per month paid annually (Start) | $0.99 per resolution; $1.50 voice; escalations not charged | DPA or BAA (incl. HIPAA) standard on Start | 30 days |
Intercom with Fin | $29 per seat/month (Essential; $19 for new customers) | $0.99 per Fin outcome | Expert, $132 per seat/month (HIPAA support listed) | 14 days, no card |
Zendesk | $19 per agent/month annually (Support Team) | 5 or 10 automated resolutions per agent/month included; $2.00 pay as you go | Suite Professional, $115 per agent/month annually (HIPAA enabled) | 14 days |
Fin on another helpdesk | No seat fee | $0.99 per outcome; 50 outcomes per month minimum | Not published on the pricing page | 14 days |
1. Help Scout: lowest published AI rate, HIPAA on the top plan
Help Scout's pricing page lists Standard at $25, Plus at $45 and Pro at $75 per user per month, with a discount for annual billing and a Free plan for 5 users. HIPAA compliance appears in the Pro plan, alongside SSO/SAML and unlimited SLA policies. Its AI agent is billed at $0.75 per resolution, and Help Scout only counts a resolution when the customer gets an AI response and does not escalate, search the knowledge base, ask more questions or say they need more help. You can set a monthly cap, after which the AI switches off for the rest of the cycle, and new accounts get three months of free, unlimited AI resolutions.
Fits: small teams whose regulated workload is mostly questions, and who want hard cost limits. Limits: Pro is sold through a demo rather than a self-serve trial, and the pages we reviewed describe an answer agent rather than one that takes actions in your own systems.
2. Freshdesk: low seat prices, check the HIPAA configuration
Freshdesk's pricing page lists Growth at $19, Pro at $55 and Enterprise at $89 per agent per month billed annually. Every paid plan includes Freddy AI Agent with the first 500 sessions free, once per account, and additional sessions cost $49 per 100. A session is a unique interaction; an email session covers 72 hours from the customer's first email. There is a 14-day free trial of the Enterprise plan.
For HIPAA, Freshworks' HIPAA configuration guide says its BAA covers Freshdesk, Freshchat, Freshcaller and Freshdesk Omnichannel, and lists mandatory settings, including IP whitelisting and storing PHI only in encrypted custom fields because default fields cannot be encrypted. The pricing page lists allowed domains and IP whitelisting, and audit logs, on Enterprise.
Fits: budget-conscious teams comfortable configuring encrypted fields. Limits: the plan required for a BAA is not stated on the pages we reviewed, so confirm it in writing.
3. Lorikeet: not the cheapest, built for regulated actions
Lorikeet is an AI customer support platform for complex and regulated businesses, and it is the most expensive option here at low volume. The pricing page lists Start at $2,100 a month paid annually for teams under 5,000 monthly tickets, plus $0.99 per resolved chat, email or SMS ticket and $1.50 per voice resolution (3 minute average). Unresolved tickets and escalations to a person are not charged, and there is a 30-day free trial with self-serve sign-up. Start includes ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type 2, a standard Data Processing Agreement or Business Associate Agreement (including HIPAA), platform onboarding and US data residency.
What the money buys is an agent that acts in your systems through APIs and runs sensitive steps such as identity checks as deterministic code. It works on top of the helpdesk you already pay for. easykind, a health start-up with two patient support coordinators, cut email response times 92% (easykind story), and GiveCard went from signing to live on voice in 3 days (GiveCard story).
Limits: $25,200 a year in plan fees before resolutions, plus your helpdesk seats; no PCI DSS; dedicated deployment starts on Scale.
4. Intercom with Fin: strong AI, HIPAA on Expert
Intercom's pricing page lists Essential at $29 per seat per month ($19 for new customers), Advanced at $85 and Expert at $132, each including Fin at $0.99 per outcome. HIPAA support is listed on Expert, with SSO and SLAs. Fin's pricing page says you are charged for one outcome per conversation, not when a conversation is simply passed to your team, and that you can set usage alerts and limits. The 14-day trial needs no credit card.
Fits: teams that want helpdesk and AI from one vendor and can justify Expert seats. Limits: a 5-person team on Expert pays $660 a month in seats before any outcomes.
5. Zendesk: AI agents on every plan, HIPAA from Suite Professional
Zendesk's pricing page lists Support Team at $19, Suite Team at $55 and Suite Professional at $115 per agent per month billed annually. AI agents are included in every Suite and Support plan and billed per automated resolution, a request resolved without escalation to a human, with 5 included per agent per month on the Team plans and 10 on Suite Professional, then $2.00 each pay as you go. HIPAA enablement and the Zendesk BAA are listed from Suite Professional, and data centre location is an add-on there.
Fits: teams that want a mainstream helpdesk with AI built in. Limits: the $2.00 pay-as-you-go rate is the highest per-resolution price in this list.
6. Fin on your existing helpdesk: no seat fee, one minimum
If you already run Zendesk, Salesforce, HubSpot or Freshdesk, Fin's pricing page offers Fin on that helpdesk at $0.99 per outcome with no additional seat costs and a minimum of 50 outcomes per month. It says Fin handles tickets, email, live chat, WhatsApp and SMS, and can take action to update external systems.
Limits: the compliance terms for this route are not published on the pricing page; you still need your helpdesk's own HIPAA tier.
What does a small regulated team actually pay?
Here is an illustrative month for 5 agents and 1,000 AI-handled conversations, at list prices on the plan each vendor names for HIPAA where it publishes one. Help Scout Pro: $375 in seats plus $750 in resolutions, about $1,125. Intercom Expert: $660 plus $990, about $1,650. Zendesk Suite Professional: $575 plus 950 pay-as-you-go resolutions at $2.00, about $2,475. Lorikeet Start: $2,100 plus $990, about $3,090, on top of your helpdesk. Freshdesk is harder to compare: Enterprise seats are $445, and 1,000 sessions after the free 500 cost $490, but sessions are not resolutions. If only half of conversations are resolved, the per-resolution tools cost less than these totals; the session-based one does not.
Two external facts frame the maths. Gartner found only 14% of service issues are fully resolved in self-service (Gartner), so you will still pay for human time. And it predicts generative AI cost per resolution will exceed $3 by 2030 (Gartner), so negotiate rate locks now.
What still needs a human, and a signature
Price is only one gate. Under HIPAA, a covered entity may share protected health information with a vendor only with "satisfactory assurances" in a contract or other written arrangement, the BAA (HHS). In consumer finance, the CFPB warns that firms deploying chatbots "risk violating legal obligations" and that customers can get stuck without a route to a human (CFPB). Keep clinical questions, hardship, complaints and disputes with people, and have your compliance lead sign off scope before launch. Gartner also predicts that by 2027 half of organisations planning big AI-driven service headcount cuts will abandon them (Gartner).
Questions to ask before you pick
Which exact plan includes the BAA or compliance terms we need, and what does it cost for our seat count?
What counts as a billable resolution, outcome or session, and are escalations charged?
Can we set a monthly spending cap?
Does the AI only answer, or can it take actions such as identity checks and account changes?
Can we map the vendor's controls to a framework such as the voluntary NIST AI Risk Management Framework?
If your tickets need actions rather than answers, you can start a 30-day free trial of Lorikeet and price it against your real volume. Related guides: AI customer service software with a free trial, AI support cost per resolution compared, per-resolution pricing explained and SOC 2 and HIPAA for AI customer support: what to verify.
Frequently asked questions
What is the most affordable AI customer support for small teams at regulated companies?
On published list prices, Help Scout has the lowest AI rate at $0.75 per resolution, with HIPAA compliance listed on its $75 per user Pro plan. Freshdesk has the lowest seat price at $19 per agent per month annually, but its BAA requires specific security settings. Lorikeet costs more, from $2,100 a month paid annually, and suits tickets that need regulated actions.
Which helpdesks list HIPAA on a specific plan?
Help Scout lists HIPAA compliance on Pro, Intercom lists HIPAA support on Expert, and Zendesk lists HIPAA enablement and its BAA on Suite Professional. Freshworks publishes a BAA scope and mandatory configuration for Freshdesk but the pages we reviewed do not name the plan.
How much does Lorikeet cost for a small team?
Lorikeet's Start plan is $2,100 a month paid annually for teams under 5,000 monthly tickets, plus $0.99 per resolved chat, email or SMS ticket and $1.50 per voice resolution. Unresolved tickets and escalations are not charged, and there is a 30-day free trial.
Is Lorikeet the cheapest option for a small regulated team?
No. At low volume Lorikeet costs more than the AI built into Help Scout, Freshdesk, Intercom or Zendesk. It is designed for teams whose tickets need actions in their own systems, such as identity checks and account changes, with a DPA or BAA standard on the Start plan.
What is the difference between an AI resolution, outcome and session?
A resolution or outcome is billed when the AI resolves a conversation, and vendors define that differently. A Freshdesk session is any unique interaction with the AI agent, resolved or not, and an email session covers 72 hours from the first email.
Do I need a BAA to use AI customer support in healthcare?
If you are a HIPAA covered entity and the vendor will handle protected health information for you, HHS says you need satisfactory assurances in a contract or other written arrangement, known as a business associate agreement.

